Racing News From the Bank Holiday weekend.

Another busy weekend for the Cycling Club Breckland and it Time Trial racers, on Saturday the 26th the club promoted a 25miles time trial on the fast B25/8 course running from Larling to Wymondham and back, C C Breckland had 3 rider in the event all rode well, Alex Bailey was the fastest of the 3 with a time of 55.44 just 1 second ahead of Paul sexton’s 55.45 Event organiser Mark Fairhead finished well in 59.15 his best time at the distance for 3 years. The event was won by inform youngster Ben Stancombe of King’s Lynn C C his time of 49.35 was well clear of 2nd placed veteran Dave Green, the Team VeloVelocity rider a specialist at the longer distances finished in 50.58, Dave won the veteran on standard class with a plus of 17.41 over veteran standard time, Ahead of V C Baracchi’s Chris Womack (16.22) Dave Green’s team mate Ben Keeley rode strongly to round of the podium with a time of 52.10. Winner of the Ladies Class was V C Norwich rider Jennifer Smart in a time of 58.03 ahead of Wisbech Wheelers Becky Murley’s 58.35, King’s Lynn C C Kay Burgess took 3rd spot with a time of 59.01. Team Velovelocity took the team prize with Geoff Frost time of 53.36 adding to Dave and Bens given them a combined time of 2.36.44

Moving on to Sunday super veteran Chris Nudds was the sole Breckland rider in the VTTA National 25 on the fast E2/25 course starting near Newmarket, 69 year old Chris rode strongly to finish in 54.51 Chris finished 42nd on time out of 99 rider and his plus time over veteran standard of 18.46 place him 12 on standard. Winning the event on fastest time was Liam Maybank (41) from Twickenham CC in a time of 46.58, winning veteran on standard was 87 year old Time trialling legand Peter Horsnell of Chelmer C C his time 1.07.45 gave him a plus of 22.19 over standard. Winning the tandem event were Mark Arnold (CC Desiragear) and Glen Taylor (Shorter Rochford RT) in a superb course record time of 44.50.

Moving on to the Bank Holiday Monday, Breckland had 4 riders in the V C Norwich 10 mile TT on the B10/3b Starting and finishing near Attleborough, Breckland riders were Alex Bailey (21.49) Paul Sexton (22.27) Mark Fairhead (23.15) and Paul Coulthread who rode to a PB time of 28.00 The event was won by DAP C C Rider Harley Matthews in a course record time of 19.19 just ahead of Team Velovelocity’s Matthew Senter (19.32) 3rd place went to C C Desiragears Mark Arnold with a time 20.11just 1 second ahead of Ben Stancombe (King’s Lynn CC). Winner of the ladies race was Denise Hurren (sole Bay) in 22.03 ahead of V C Norwich’s Jennifer Smart (23.36) with 3rd place going to wisbech wheeler Becky Murley (23.41) Fastest Junior was V C Baracchi’s Lucas He in 20.51 a rider to watch out for in the future.
Mark Fairhead.
Photos are Chris Nudds, Alex Bailey, Mark Fairhead & Paul Sexton

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

2 × 4 =