Win for Arnold

Cycling Club Breckland promoted their 2nd event of 2013 – a 10 mile Time Trial on the Hingham – Carbrooke – Hingham course: for once the weather was kind to the riders, light winds, dry roads and even a bit of sunshine.

The event attracted 47 riders with an age range from 14 to 82 years old. The race was won by Team Pedal Revolutions rider Mark Arnold in a course record time of 21.50, and in second place for the 2nd year running was King’s Lynn CC rider Daniel Bloy, posting a time of 22.04, missing the win by a mere 14 seconds.

In 3rd place was Jason Kierman of Wisbech Wheelers with a time of 22.53. C C Breckland’s super veteran Chris Nudds finished 10th overall and took the Veterans on standard win – just 4 seconds behind him was junior team mate Declan Davis. Times from Anglia Velo riders were Danny Watkins 24.11, Peter James 26.41 and Stephen Penney 34.32. Times posted from CC Breckland riders were Nick Standley 25.46, Mark Fairhead 26.05, Simon Atherton 26.56, Roger Graham 27.06, Andrew Lincoln 28.23, Club chairman Don Saunders riding his trike at 28.42 and Robert Walthew 31.54 which unfortunately included a 5 minute late start penalty.

A final mention has to go to CC Breckland’s Bobby De’ath who had the misfortune to puncture on the return leg, but he still managed to ride on a flat tyre back to the Scoulton Village Hall HQ, change his wheel and continue to the finish recording an admirable time of 33.11.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

19 + fifteen =